Resolutions

I’ve always kind of laughed off other people when they make new years resolutions. I am very practical so if there’s no real reason to it, why bother? I mean, you’ll do it for a month but then you’ll completely forget all about. Anyway, I decided to actually try it for once.

This year I had three resolutions that I thought were practical, reasonable, and worthwhile.

One: Complete Wanderlusts 21 day yoga challenge. Check. I did complete it although I did take a day or two break in between the last few days. I’ve been doing yoga on and off for the last few years. I love it but I didn’t seem to be getting much better at it. So I took it on for 21 days and after 1 week I could see a difference! Since the challenge I’ve tried to keep up but I definitely haven’t been nearly as diligent.

Two: Don’t eat any chocolate or dessert for one month. Check. I only cheated once at a friend’s house when she was baking chocolate chip cookies. This one came from constantly coming home from school craving sweets. All I wanted to do was eat chocolate. So I took a month off (obviously this couldn’t be a permanent thing because I like baking too much). It was harder than I thought it would be, but I satisfied my cravings with sweet potatoes. Of course I had to make a cake for Ronnie’s birthday at the end of January, but my takeaway from this experience was to only eat dessert after dinner. It was very tempting to eat that amazing German chocolate cake for breakfast, lunch, or snack time. I’ll have you know that I resisted and only ate cake after my dinner.

Three: Keep the house clean. Many of the teachers here have hired a maid to clean for them. My good ol’ Dutch heritage can’t imagine me paying someone to do something I’m perfectly capable of doing myself. However, we are very bad at keeping up with things. It generally sits around until we need it or it’s very disgusting. I read a blog once that suggested 20 minutes of cleaning when you first get home from work is a good habit to get into. Because really, cleaning isn’t all that bad, but finding the motivation to get started is what gets me. Unfortunately this has been the least successful of my goals. But we shall continue to work on it.

Anyone else have a New Years resolution?

Leave a Reply

